Projects as SIDEMAN

MICHEL PASTRE QUINTET

A tribute to the genius of the electric guitar, a meteorite that disappeared too quickly in the Jazz firmament, to which we owe so many masterpieces immortalized by Benny Goodman's sextet. By his improvisations and his accompaniment, Charlie Christian revolutionized the way of playing the guitar at the same time as he imposed the electric guitar in jazz.

His swing and his innovative ideas, which join those of the great saxophonist Lester Young, make Charlie Christian the favorite guitarist of Michel Pastre who always wanted to play his arrangements.

Michel Pastre stands out today as one of our most famous French tenor saxophonist. He first performed in small groups and then, in the 90s, was called up in big bands: the Tuxedo Big Band by Paul Chéron and the Super Swing Machine by Gérard Badini, of which he became the star soloist. Sidney Bechet Prize of the Academy of Jazz in 1999, he sets up his own big band which triumphs in the biggest jazz festivals. His meeting with the world-renowned Australian guitarist David Blenkhorn led him to create this swing quintet in homage to guitarist Charlie Christian, a legendary figure of the great “Swing” period, like Louis Armstrong, Coleman Hawkins, Art Tatum or Lester Young. The other musicians ensure a remarkable cohesion to the quintet, always at the service of swing and beautiful melodies, among the best of the European classical jazz scene.

Michel Pastre: tenor saxophone / Malo Mazurié: trumpet / David Blenkhorn: guitar / Sébastien Girardot: double bass / Guillaume Nouaux: drums

DOUR

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Music and photos show

With Marc Benham (piano), Pierrick Pédron (saxophone), Malo Mazurié (trumpet), Philipe Dardelle (double bass), Mourad Benhammou (drums) and photographer Pierre-Alain Le Guilchard.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

A declaration of love for Brittany and the Trois Abers.

Let yourself be carried away to the music and dive into the depths of the landscapes, make the soul of the Abers vibrate, follow the movement of nature, feel its breathing punctuated by the tides: "sway, eddies, agitation, energy, tempo, beat, softness, calm, appeasement…. "

This is what a photographer and five musicians with recognized talent offer. They succeeded in bringing together music and the raw image of reality, giving a spectacle of great beauty, full of poetry and harmony ...

A palette rich in rhythms and musical colors!

An original creation produced by the Hot Club Jazz 'Iroise,

Westalk QUARTET

www.westalk.fr

Gerry Mulligan in Quartet with Chet Baker, without piano or guitar, a revolution that dates back to 1952. Light and arranged music that marked the cool jazz of the time.Inspired by the music of this famous "pianoless" quartet, Westalk s 'part of the continuity of this Jazz Cool where melodies in counterpoint and delicate interlacing made, in the 50s, the beautiful evenings of the clubs of the West Coast. By bringing their personal touch and some beautiful original compositions, the musicians of Westalk give this aesthetic an astonishing topicality.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Group members :

Malo Mazurié: trumpet, bugle - Jérôme Nicolas: baritone sax, clarinet -

Jean-Pierre Almy: double bass - Gildas Etévenard: drums

Projets en tant que SIDEMAN

MICHEL PASTRE QUINTET

 

Un hommage au génie de la guitare électrique, météorite trop vite disparu au firmament du Jazz, auquel on doit tant de chefs d’oeuvre immortalisés par le sextet de Benny Goodman. Par ses improvisations et son accompagnement, Charlie Christian révolutionna la façon de jouer de la guitare en même temps qu’il imposa la guitare électrique dans le jazz. 

Son swing et ses idées novatrices, qui rejoignent celles du grand saxophoniste Lester Young, font de Charlie Christian le guitariste préféré de Michel Pastre qui a toujours souhaité jouer ses arrangements.

Michel Pastre s’impose aujourd’hui comme l’un de nos plus fameux saxophoniste ténor français. Il se produit d’abord en petite formation puis, dans les années 90, est appelé dans des big bands : le Tuxedo Big Band de Paul Chéron et la Super Swing Machine de Gérard Badini dont il devient le soliste vedette. Prix Sidney Bechet de l’Académie du Jazz en 1999, il monte son propre big band qui triomphe dans les plus grands festivals de jazz. Sa rencontre avec le guitariste australien David Blenkhorn, mondialement réputé, l’amène à créer ce quintet swing en hommage au guitariste Charlie Christian, une figure légendaire de la grande période « Swing » au même titre que Louis Armstrong, Coleman Hawkins, Art Tatum ou Lester Young. Les autres musiciens assurent une cohésion remarquable au quintet, toujours au service du swing et des belles mélodies, parmis les meilleurs de la scène jazz classique européenne.

Michel Pastre : saxophone ténor / Malo Mazurié : trompette / David Blenkhorn : guitare / Sébastien Girardot : contrebasse / Guillaume Nouaux : batterie

DOUR

Spectacle musique et photos

 

Avec Marc Benham (piano), Pierrick Pédron (saxophone), Malo Mazurié (trompette), Philipe Dardelle (contrebasse), Mourad Benhammou (batterie) et le photographe Pierre-Alain Le Guilchard.

Une déclaration d’amour à la Bretagne et aux trois Abers.

 

    Se laisser emporter au gré de la musique et plonger au plus profond des paysages, faire vibrer l’âme des Abers, suivre le mouvement de la nature, sentir sa respiration rythmée par les marées : « balancement, remous, agitation, énergie, tempo, battement, douceur, calme, apaisement…. »     

    C’est ce que proposent un photographe et cinq musiciens au talent reconnu. Ils ont réussi à mettre en osmose la musique et l’image brute du réel, donnant un spectacle de toute beauté, plein de poésie et d’harmonie…

Une palette riche en rythmes et en couleurs musicales !

Une création originale produite par le Hot Club Jazz’ Iroise,

Westalk QUARTET

www.westalk.fr

 

Gerry Mulligan en Quartet avec Chet Baker, sans piano ni guitare, une révolution qui date de 1952.Une musique légère et arrangée qui a marqué le cool jazz de l'époque.Inspiré par la musique de ce célèbre quartet "pianoless", Westalk s'inscrit dans la continuité de ce Jazz Cool où mélodies en contrepoint et entrelacs délicats firent, dans les années 50, les beaux soirs des clubs de la West Coast. En y apportant leur touche personnelle et quelques belles compositions originales, les musiciens de Westalk redonnent à cette esthétique une étonnante actualité.

 

 

Membres du groupe :    

Malo Mazurié : trompette, bugle - Jérôme Nicolas : sax baryton, clarinette - 

Jean-Pierre Almy : contrebasse - Gildas Etévenard : batterie